The Empyrean update

The Empyrean by John Frusciante is fast becoming one of the most anticipated album releases of 2009. Both his personal fans and the fans of his band, Red Hot Chili Peppers, have high expectations for The Empyrean. Recently he released one of the tracks from the album, Unreachable. The track is according to Frusciante himself the only track that will be pre released from The Empyrean.

While mostly an unknown as a solo act to the general audience, John Frusciante has actually released ten solo albums before The Empyrean. His first album saw the light of day in 1994, when Frusciante had left RHCP. His debut was called "Niandra Lades and Usually Just a T-Shirt."

On his personal website, John Frusciante recently revealed the track list for The Empyrean. The list consists of 10 tracks, which seems reasonable considering that the only track that has been released, Unreachable, is over 6 minutes long.

Track list for The Empyrean:

1. Before The Beginning
2. Song To The Siren
3. Unreachable
4. God
5. Dark/Light
6. Heaven
7. Enough Of Me
8. Central
9. One More Of Me
10. After The Ending
According to Frusciante The Empyrean will be presented in a somewhat dark fashion. You will get the idea when you listen to his brilliant Unreachable. It is a dark and slow but never boring track that after listening to a few times has grown to be my current favorite.

The Empyrean consists of songs written by John Frusciante himself. The only exception is "Song To The Siren", which is a cover of a Tim Buckley song. It is hardly any surprise that he chose to write all the material himself. He is, as you probably know, one of the main contributors when Red Hot Chili Peppers create new material, not to mention his ten former albums which is mainly written by Frusciante.

His chosen team of coworkers for The Empyrean consist of Flea, his friends Josh Klinghoffer and Johnny Marr, Sonus Quartet and The New Dimension Singers.

Frusciante recently stated "I'm really happy with it (The Empyrean) and i've listened to it a lot for the psychedelic experience it provides." Let's just hope that it will be as good as he claims. I have a feeling it will...

Ohh by the way, The Empyrean is set to released January 20th 2009.


I have added a summary of the information that has been released so far: The Empyrean review

I just found a site that might interest you. It is a site about Bass guitars and bass amps and you can find it here: 5 string bass

1 comment:

soul2squeeze said...

wao !!

i'm dying to listen to this album

i'm a die hard fan of john's work

hey john please start work on new rhcp album too

we'll r missing rhcp !